05 March 2012

AP, Big 12 Honors

Frank Haith named Coach of the Year
by Mizzou Matt
COLUMBIA, MO- The Big 12 and Associated Press released their yearly accolades for the basketball portion of the academic year. It's really no surprise who won the National Coach of the Year. The University of Missouri's own Frank Haith. Haith wins the national award despite finishing behind Iowa State's Fred Hoidberg and Kansas University's Bill Self in Big 12 Conference voting.

"[Fred] Hoiberg wins coaching accolades after leading the Cyclones to the greatest turnaround in Big 12 history. Iowa State won nine more games than a year ago and earned the No. 3 seed in the Big 12 Championship. [Bill] Self is named top coach for the third time in the last four seasons and fourth time overall after leading KU to its eighth consecutive Big 12 regular season crown," cites big12sports.com on the reasoning behind Haith's exclusion from the voting.

The Tigers' awards didn't stop there. Michael Dixon, Jr was named the unanimous Big 12 "6th Man of the Year", averaging 13.3 points in 31 games off the bench. Down the stretch, he finished in double digits in 10 games, and shot an astounding 57% or better in seven games. Dixon becomes the second Tiger to win the award. Dixon also earned a spot on the All-Big 12 Defensive Team.

Marcus Denmon was awarded with All-Big 12 First Team honors. He joins Thomas Robinson of Kansas, "Rolls" Royce White of Iowa State, Tyshawn Taylor of Kansas, and J'Covan Brown of Texas.

Ricardo Ratliffe made All-Big 12 Second Team along with Quincy Acy of Baylor, Pierre Jackson of Baylor, Rodney McGruder of Kansas State, and Keiton Page of Oklahoma State.

Phil Pressey and Kim English earned All-Big 12 Third Team honors alongside Perry Jones III of Baylor, Scott Christopherson of Iowa State, and Jeff Withey of Kansas.

Play free web games.

Use the countdown generator to create your own countdown.